

Board of Directors Meeting Minutes – Nipissing University Student Union Thursday, March 31, 2016 – NUSU Boardroom <u>In attendance:</u> Jordan Andrews (Chair), Andrew Deugo, Madison Byblow, Kieran Donnelly, Jordan Dempster, Shayla Garrick, Brittaney Kent, David Ratcliffe, Markus Hawco (Observer) <u>Regrets:</u> Ruth Cortez-Alvarez

1. Formal Opening – Call to Order

2. Adoption of Agenda - Brittaney moves to adopt the agenda and Madison seconds. The motion is passed unanimously.

3. Adoption of Minutes – Jordan states that the minutes from the previous meeting will be circulated electronically for approval.

4. Executive Committee Updates – Jordan Andrews explains the most recent updates to the building project in a general sense and will elaborate further when the building project item is reached on the agenda. Andrew explains that the last wall nights have been established as taking place on the weekend of April 9 and 10. Madison explains that her Wellness Week campaign has been organised and is to take place during the week of April 4th to the 8th.

5. Executive Elect Updates – Jordan Dempster has been working on developing a preliminary policy manual by comparing what is common practice at other university and college student unions. Markus Hawco has begun work on assembling a comprehensive list of potential sponsors for NUSU over the course of next year and has been very engaged in the building project's financial planning. Brittaney Kent has been working very closely with Sarah McGowan on the development of the website, handbook and a student survey. Dave Ratcliffe has been interviewing frosh leader candidates and will be deliberating with his coordinators on the weekend of April 2nd.

6. Building Project Update – Jordan Andrews and Rahul Shastri of Loopstra-Nixon are working on the release of the trust fund. They are assembling information for an affidavit between Canadore College, Nipissing University and NUSU. A timeline will be established. The Services Department, the Executives, Jordan Dempster and Markus Hawco have been meeting to discuss potential cuts and changes to the building project based on the budgets and trying to remain fiscally responsible. No final decisions will be made without the consultation of the Mitchell Architects.

7. New Board Transition – Jordan Andrews explains that the newly elected board will come as observers to the April Meeting and they will take office on May 1, 2016.

8. Valedictorian Elections – Jordan Andrews explains that the nomination period for valedictorian elections may have to be extended if there is not at least one candidate in each race. Andrew Deugo motions that the Board of Directors agree to extend the nomination period for valedictorian elections may have to be extended if there is not at least one candidate in each race. Madison seconds the motion and it is passed unanimously.

9. Committee Appointments – There are two committees looking for student representation: a Search Committee for the Dean of Graduate Studies and a Search Committee for the Vice President Academic and Research. Andrew Deugo motions that "Jordan Andrews is to sit on the Search Committee for the Vice President Academic and Research. This motion is seconded by Madison and is passed unanimously. Jordan Andrews motions that "Jordan Dempster is sit on the Search Committee for the Dean of Graduate Studies. This motion is seconded by Brittaney Kent and is passed unanimously.

10. Student Fees – Jordan Andrews, Andrew Deugo and Kieran Donnelly have been attending the Ancillary Fee Committee meetings as student representatives with Casey Phillips, Bob Keech, and Cheryl Sutton. The student union ancillary fees were decided to be amended minimally. The largest change came about from the Student Health Plan Fee. Currently, Nipissing University Students pay one of the lowest rates for health insurance and the provider has been asking us to increase the fees to the minimum of \$75.00 per student. Andrew Deugo motions to "Deugo motions that the BOD accept an increase of \$15.00 to the proposed 2016/17 Student Health Plan Ancillary Fee. Seconded by Jordan Dempster and is unanimously passed. Andrew Deugo then motions "that the BOD commit to a yearly increase to the Student Health Plan for two years following the 2016/2017 academic year". Brittaney Kent seconds and the motion is unanimously passed.

11. Closed Session – Jordan Andrews motions to enter closed session with a second from Andrew Deugo and the motion is unanimously passed.

12. Other Business – No other business.